A New Table Saw for Teaching

I have a pretty good collection of power tools amassed over the last 12 years. When I took over farming my grandfather’s land at 16, I used my father’s tools. At 18, I bought a Craftsman 14.4V Cordless Drill and thus it began. While I was farming, tools were a tax write-off, and that meant plenty of new purchases. By 2002 I finished University, and wasn’t farming any more. My job teaching allowed me to purchase my (our) first home, an 80s bi-level in the northwest end of our city. With this change in circumstance came a whole new category of tool needs. I watched Canadian Tire and Sears fliers, and bought on-sale tools whenever I could. One such purchase was a Mastercraft 13amp 10” Table Saw.

This saw did some decent work for me. On the first house, together we installed 500 sq. feet of laminate flooring, and did some rough construction. In the new house, the saw and I installed 700 square feet of bamboo but near the end of the installation, it became apparent that the bamboo was too tough a match for the motor. When powering down the saw, the motor started making a horrible screeching noise. I knew it was just a matter of time before the saw gave up the ghost. I poked around, and the motor is directly attached to the saw blade, which is built right into the table. The thought of pulling the saw apart to get at the motor, and then trying to find new bearings made me cringe. I felt like it would be throwing good money and time after bad.

So, I did what ever I do when dissatisfied with a Canadian Tire product — I called to see about returning it. I was told there is a 3 year warranty on the saw. I checked online, and the same saw is still stocked. I informed the customer service attendant that I didn’t have my receipt. (This was because I bought the saw 7 years ago, but I didn’t mention that part.) She told me this wasn’t a problem, but I would receive store credit. Seeing as I spend a chunk of money at Canadian Tire every month, I decided this wasn’t a bad option at all. Having returned my saw, the next task was to find a replacement. I decided not to buy new – I wanted a saw from back when they made things to last. Or at least made things to be repaired when they broke.

I watched the local craigslist-esque site, and came across an ad for an old saw with a cabinet. I inquired about the saw, and got the following response:

“I promise you, won’t be disappointed with this one.  It belonged to my father-in-law, who was head over all the shops at the Local Technical School. It cuts exact angles, horizontally and vertically and is strong, solid and dependable just like he always was. HP: 1/2 ; Brand:  Atlas.”

This seemed to be an emotionally (and electrically) charged saw. And it turned out to be. I took our communally owned truck to pick up the saw, and the elderly man selling the saw told me all about all the things he made with the saw, and what a great man his father-in-law was. He sadly said that the saw was the only thing he received when his father-in-law passed on. After we loaded the saw in the truck, it started to spit and he quickly dug out a tarp to cover the saw. It had never seen a drop of rain. The transaction ended with an exchange of $95 (his asking price) and a hug (free, and a bit awkward but I think he appreciated it). I assured him the saw was going to a good home. Here is how it looked before it left his garage:

my new saw

When I got home, I decided to find out a little bit more about the saw. It was made in St. Thomas, Ontario, by Atlas, the Canadian subsidiary of the Atlas Press Company (which purchased Clausing Lathe in the 1950s, and now exists as Clausing Industrial).

Here’s the badge from the saw:

A bit more digging, and I found that there are a few of these saws kicking around on an Old Woodworking Machines site:

So far I’ve only cut two small pieces of composite decking with the saw, but it has done a great job. So quiet compared to my previous saw! They just don’t make them like they used to. I’ll do my best to provide an adequate home for it. I know of two old men (one deceased and one not) who would appreciate it…

Edit: I think the saw in this catalogue (scroll down to the 3102 model) is pretty close to my saw, putting it in the 50s…the model # isn’t exact, but the fence is the same…so it much be close.

2 responses to “A New Table Saw for Teaching

  1. That looks exactly like dad’s saw, the one set up in my back yard right now. Unfortunately it did get wet when he leant it to a friend, but we just sanded the rust right off of it. Good as new.

  2. I own a little guitar shop called Fretsong… Now in my 50s – just old enough to appreciate the saw you show here. Found your story looking for a smaller Dunlap/Sears/KS saw and or stationary belt sander from this era. I am continually swapping out bushings and rebuilding the belt sanders, and the table saws are huge and expensive, or very cheaply made. It is amazing how hard it is to find real quality in anything that isn’t commercial class these days. This little tool would be treated with much love in my shop. Just what I am looking for… Regards…………………PM

Leave a comment